About the Cheseldine House

History

The Cheseldine House was built in 1904 by Captain Kelly Cheseldine, local boat builder and waterman. He is credited for being the inventor of the Potomac River dory boat (see information about him in Edwin Beitzel's book - Life on the Potomac River). His daughter and son in law, Lillie and Leo de Waard (and Lillie's brother Reg), were the last family to live here. Mr. de Waard worked as a Postal Inspector in the 1930's and traveled with President Franklin Roosevelt; it's rumored the President even visited the site.

Renting the Property

This is a picturesque outdoor venue. The main house's two large porches are available for use, as well as a 100' pier.

There is a small 1920's two-room cottage on the site as well, built by Robert Cheseldine, son of Captain Kelly Cheseldine. The cottage is available for dressing / waiting rooms for weddings and receptions.

The current owners are offering this beautiful waterfront site for outdoor weddings, receptions and other family themed events. This is also a popular site for engagement and wedding photos. The property is located in Bushwood, in the northern area of St. Mary's County, Maryland, within a large agricultural preservation area. The desired party size is 50 - 75 people, but larger parties can be accommodated; ample, on- site grass parking is available. Currently, site renters are responsible for providing their own tents, tables, chairs and portable restrooms (great vendors located nearby!). Water and electricity are available.

The front porch of the Captain Kelly Cheseldine House

The front porch of the Captain Kelly Cheseldine House

Amenities and Guidelines

View amenities and rental guidelines.

Rates and guidelines